Medium is seriously addicting

Can you relate?

Dr. Tracy Davis
2 min readJun 2, 2022
Photo by Ketut Subiyanto on Pexels.com

I sit down with my computer and my coffee ready to start writing and pumping out content for the masses. Okay, okay, so my following isn’t all that big, but I see you and I appreciate you!

But then, something happens. I decide to read some articles for inspiration. And then it’s like Medium gets to know me even better. And along the side are even more suggestions of similar articles. Before I know it, I’ve spent the better part of an hour just reading, clapping, and commenting.

Now I don’t mind this because I love being part of an encouraging community. So, I will happily read, clap, and comment to support other writers. But, it reminds me that I have to be a bit more diligent about managing my time.

Stats, stats, stats!

Another rabbit hole I find myself going down is reviewing my stats each day. And it’s not like it takes me that long to go through it. Each story is only getting a few views so far. But, I think there’s something psychological thinking that the NEXT time I click refresh, one of my stories is going to go viral!

Poof! And then all of sudden my Medium writing goals will be on fire. In a good way.

I have to remind myself that being a writer or a blogger is a long game. It’s not an…

--

--

Dr. Tracy Davis

Doctorate in Educational Leadership Multipassionate, Energy Healing, Productivity, Travel, and Personal Development. https://linktr.ee/trayceedee